“Detourism: Venice newsletter” is the newsletter prepared by the Tourism Office of the Town of Venice which is sent free of charge to hundreds of subscribers every week, providing valuable food for thought and insights on the history, art and culture of Venice.
We are proud to publish some selected contents of such newsletter (see previous post: “Detourism for the Up and Down the Bridges“). On our website, in several episodes, we will only present some samples (see all posts in our archive page “Detourism Newsletter“), but the invitation addressed to all the friends of the Up and Down the Bridges is to fill in the online form proposed by the Town of Venice to receive it directly in their email box every week.
Special thanks to the Councillor for Tourism for having enthusiastically welcomed this new important collaboration between TGS Eurogroup and the Tourism Office of the Town of Venice and for giving us the precious opportunity to publish on the pages of this blog some extracts from this newsletter, both in Italian and in English.
As previously announced, (see post “Detourism: Venice’s neighbourhood”), today we start discovering all Venetian neighbourhood, one by one! Let’s start with San Marco district. Enjoy the reading!
San Marco district, originally called Rivoalto (the present-day Rialto), is the original nucleus of the city. The heart of the district is represented by Piazza San Marco, the only piazza in Venice: all other open spaces in the city are called campi.
At the very centre of Venetian life, the square is dedicated to the Evangelist Mark, patron saint of Venice since his relics had arrived in the lagoon in 828 AD, after being adventurously stolen from Alexandria in Egypt. Here are Venice’s most imposing buildings, such as Palazzo Ducale, the residence of the Doge and the seat of government. A monumental entrance called the Porta della Carta is on the façade facing Piazza San Marco and next to Saint Mark’s Basilica, the Doge’s private chapel until 1807; opposite, the bell tower, known as the paron de casa (the “house owner”), 99 meters high.
On 14th July 1902, the tower suddenly collapsed. It was rebuilt and inaugurated ten years later. The building that encloses the far end of the Piazza San Marco is known as the Napoleonic Wing, which now houses the Correr Museum. Next, you can find the National Archaeological Museum.
Under the arcades of the Procuratie Nuove, you can also find Italy’s oldest cafè, Caffè Florian, opened in 1720 by Floriano Francesconi. The island of San Giorgio Maggiore, with the monumental complex of the Cini Foundation, also belongs to the San Marco district.
Take a virtual tour of the St Mark’s area on the “Meraviglie di Venezia” web site!
[source: La newsletter di Venezia, N° 21/2020 del 11.06.2020]
[picture by Jo Wiggijo / Pixabay]
To receive the newsletter “Detourism” directly in your email box every week fill in the online form proposed by the Town of Venice.
Discover all the itineraries of #Detourism to explore a different Venice, promoted as part of the #EnjoyRespectVenezia awareness campaign of the Town of Venice.
Adopt conscious and respectful behaviors of the cultural and natural heritage of Venice and its lagoon, a site protected by UNESCO.
Sustainable Tourism Service of the Town of Venice: