The publication of some selected contents of “Detourism: Venice newsletter” continues (see previous post: “Detourism for the Up and Down the Bridges“). This is the newsletter prepared by the Tourism Office of the Town of Venice which is sent free of charge to hundreds of subscribers every week, providing valuable food for thought and insights on the history, art and culture of Venice. On our website, in several episodes, we will only present some samples of the newsletter, but the invitation addressed to all the friends of the Up and Down the Bridges is to fill in the online form proposed by the Town of Venice to receive it directly in their email box every week.
Special thanks to the Councillor for Tourism for having enthusiastically welcomed this new important collaboration between TGS Eurogroup and the Tourism Office of the Town of Venice and for giving us the precious opportunity to publish on the pages of this blog some extracts from this newsletter, both in Italian and in English.
Today we discover more about the leaning towers of Venice! Enjoy the reading!
- The bell tower of the Church of Santo Stefano (picture), in the San Marco district. It dates back to the mid-fifteenth century, and with its 66 metres high, it is one of the tallest in the city. In 1585, the belfry was struck by lightning and had to be rebuilt.
- The bell tower of the Church of San Giorgio dei Greci, in the Castello district. It has been leaning since it was built between 1587 and 1603. The church of San Giorgio dei Greci is one of the most splendid Orthodox temples in the world. A whole Greek neighborhood took shape around this church. Here you can also visit the Museum of Byzantine icons.
- The bell tower of the Basilica of San Pietro di Castello. It was built in white Istrian stone by Mauro Codussi between 1482 and 1490. Until 1807, when Saint Mark’s Basilica became Venice’s official cathedral, the Basilica of San Pietro di Castello functioned as the spiritual and administrative religious centre of the city.
- The bell tower of the church of San Martino in Burano, which, together with the brightly coloured fishermen’s cottages, has become a symbol of the island. Because of land subsidence it has an inclination of 1.83 metres from the perpendicular. The bronze angel which once stood on the top of the tower was destroyed by a storm in September 1867 and was later replaced by the now standing iron cross.
Discover all Walking Art & Culture Tours in the Heart of Venice on the VeneziaUnica web site.
[source: La newsletter di Venezia, N° 15/2020 del 07.05.2020]
[picture by Didier Descouens – own work CC BY-SA 4.0]
To receive the newsletter “Detourism” directly in your email box every week fill in the online form proposed by the Town of Venice.
Discover all the itineraries of #Detourism to explore a different Venice, promoted as part of the #EnjoyRespectVenezia awareness campaign of the Town of Venice.
Adopt conscious and respectful behaviors of the cultural and natural heritage of Venice and its lagoon, a site protected by UNESCO.
Sustainable Tourism Service of the Town of Venice: